Celebrating the talent and creativity of young artists, Oglebay Institute’s 31st annual Regional Student Art Exhibition is on display at the Stifel Fine Arts Center.

The exhibit provides high school students the opportunity to display their artwork in a professional gallery, see what other students are doing in the world of art and collaborate and get feedback from art teachers, college professors and other students from throughout the region.

A reception and awards presentation was held earlier this month. Several students received cash prizes for their work, and others received scholarships to West Liberty University and West Virginia University.

Fifteen high schools in Ohio and West Virginia are represented in this year’s show, including: Beallsville, Bellaire, Bridgeport, Brooke, Buckeye Local, Linsly, Martins Ferry, Monroe Central, Oak Glen, Olney Friends School, River, St. Clairsville, Union Local, Wheeling Central and Wheeling Park.

More than 250 pieces were submitted, and 96 were selected for the exhibit after being juried by Jeffery Moser, assistant professor of the Interactive Design for Media program at WVU, and Shayla Marsh, ceramic artist and Myers Foundation Fellow at WVU.

The annual exhibition is open to students in grades 9-12 within a 50-mile radius of Wheeling. Prizes were awarded for Best of Show and to the top three students in five categories — painting, photography, drawing, 3D and mixed media. Five students received honorable mentions.

Award winners are as follows:

Best of Show: Erin McChesney of Linsly for her acrylic painting “Here, Then and Now.”

Drawing: first place, Shelby Hannahs, Union Local; second place, Jade Myers, St. Clairsville; third place, Morgan Doan, Union Local; honorable mention, Bellah Haga, Monroe Central.

Painting: first place, Ambur Tidrick, Union Local, second place, Erin McChesney, Linsly; third place, Lacy Bilyeu, Union Local; honorable mention, MaKenna Klarr, Martins Ferry.

Photography: first place, Ryleigh Jackson, Bellaire; second place, Hannah Merritt, Union Local; third place, Rey Sadoff, Olney Friends School; honorable mention, Noa Everett, Olney Friends School.

Mixed media: first place, Carinda Lancia, Martins Ferry; second place, Madison Monarque, Union Local; third place, Dylan Diosi, Linsly; honorable mention, Callie Cika, Bridgeport.

3D and sculpture: first place, Hauna Bennington, Bellaire; second place, Ashley McCarthy, Bellaire; third place, Kira Wakulchik, St. Clairsville; honorable mention, Charidy Ward, Oak Glen.

West Liberty University awarded scholarships to Ambur Tidrick of Union Local and Dylan Diosi of Linsly.

Tidrick was also awarded a scholarship to West Virginia University.

In their juror’s statement, Moser and Marsh stated, “These works illustrate the incredible talent in the region. When considering the work of young artists, one must consider the differences in age, experience, instruction, practice and mentorship. When making decisions, we considered formal aesthetics, concept, original content, and presence of the artist’s hand and voice. Congratulations to all that are in the show, and especially to those who are receiving awards. And finally, thank you to all of the students, teachers and parents who support and promote the arts.”

The show can be viewed free of charge through Feb. 15. Hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturdays. Evening hours are dependent upon classes and special events taking place. For information call 304-242-7700 or visit www.oionline.com.

Front row, from left: Stifel Fine Arts Center director of exhibitions Michael McKowen, Oglebay Institute president Danielle McCracken, Hauna Bennington (Bellaire), Ryleigh Jackson (Bellaire), Erin McChesney (Linsly), Shelby Hannahs (Union Local), WVU coordinator of art education and assistant professor Dr. Teri Giobbia, and West Liberty University department of journalism, communication studies and visual art chair Brian Fencl. Middle row, from left: Morgan Doan (Union Local), Kira Wakulchik (St. Clairsville), Jade Myers (St. Clairsville) and Stifel Center Director Rick Morgan. Back row, from left: Rey Sadoff (Olney Friends School), Carinda Lancia (Martins Ferry), Callie Cika (Bridgeport) and Charidy Ward (Oak Glen)

Leave a Reply